2013 Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award announced

For its sixth annual ABNA award, Amazon decided to change a couple of things, among them the publisher. Last year, it was Penguin who offered contracts to winners, now it’s Amazon Publishing. This might not come as a surprise, considering the fact that Amazon has the possibility of organizing such a content in-house.

But there are other changes as well. Now there are five categories, instead of the usual two:

  • General Fiction
  • Romance
  • Mystery/Thriller
  • Science Fiction/Fantasy/Horror
  • Young Adult

There will be one Grand Prize, consisting of a full publishing contract with Amazon Publishing and a $50,000 advance. Four additional First Prize winners will be selected, each receiving a $15,000 advance and a contract with Amazon Publishing.

Submission period begins on January 14 and lasts until January 27, or until Amazon has received 10,000 entries. All submissions are managed by Createspace.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.